ABOUT US

Profile of MOST's Taiwan Startup Institute


Funded by the Ministry of Science and Technology, Taiwan Startup Institute (TSI)is a national-level startup accelerator, and has the mission of uncovering promising R&D results hidden away at universities and research institutions, and guiding aspiring technologieson the way towards commercialization.TSI also promotes the establishment of startups involved in the commercial development of these technologies,which willtransform schools' R&D results into tangible industrial assets. TSI is composed of professionalswith experience and expertise in criticalareas such as finance, law, investment fund-raising, and industry; and helpsstartupteams fine-tunetheir business models, navigate regulatory pathways, and perform market assessment and financial and equity planning. TSI also provides connections to the knowledge, training classes, and external resources needed by innovative startups,including links to domestic and foreign angel investors, venture capitalists, corporate investment departments, and private fund-raising channels. TSI is committed to creating even more exciting success stories in Taiwan!

Service areas


1. Take the initiative to discover and identify teams with high potential and recruit them into the project.
2. We bring together worldwide venture capital firms, professional networks, startups, and research institutes .
3. We help research teams optimize their business models, and define their market position and product segmentation.
4. We invite specialized lecturers and industry experts to provide startup training and mentoring .
5. Research teams will be given opportunities to take part in domestic and overseas exhibitions, and provided with extensive media coverage.

MOST'sTRUST-U Projects


As the leading promoter of science and technology in Taiwan, the Ministry of Science and Technology (MOST)has specifically introduced TRUST-U Program to help universities to commercialize their valuable technologies. Because Taiwan's universities and research institutes have accumulated many years of R&D results, MOST hopes that the transfer of these technological capabilities and results to industry will help transform Taiwan's impressive academic research advancement into real commercial value, benefiting both industry and society.

Apart from providing funding support to startupteams, MOST's TRUST-U program has also establisha national-level accelerator— Taiwan Startup Institute (TSI). By pairing startup teamswith the R&D expertise of universities and research institutions, and providing guidance from mentors in various fields, TSI is helping budding entrepreneurs successfully cross the "valley of death" that causes so many early startups to fail. And as a result, TSI is also ensuring that the R&D results of industry, universities, and research institutionsare fruitfully utilized in real-world applications. While giving Taiwan's industries new infusions of technology and fostering high-value tech startups, the many benefits of TRUST-U Programalso include the encouragement of entrepreneurship and win-win outcomes for both academia and industry

5 Pillar Industries


In accordance with the central government's 5+2 Innovative Industries Plan , the TSI has committed to transforming the Taiwanese economy and industry in the following five major industry fields.


1. The Asian Silicon Valley Project aims to promote innovation and R&D for devices and applications of the internet of things (IoT), including object detection, internet infrastructure, data collection, and application services.
2. The Circular Economy Project involves those industries integrating and supplying energy resources, as well as those offering cyclical use of waste.
3. The New Agriculture Project covers agriculture, forestry, fishery, animal husbandry & related processing industries, machinery manufacturing/leasing industries, and wholesale business, etc.
4. The Intelligent Machinery Project brings together elements of smart technology, such as big data, virtual reality and real world integration, and 3D printing, etc.
5. The Biomedicine Project covers applied biotechnology industries, pharmaceutical industries, and medical devices industries.

關於我們

科技部產學研鏈結中心

科技部Taiwan Startup Institute (TSI)是國家級創業加速器,我們的使命是發掘學研機構具商業潛力之成熟研發成果,引導進行商業化、成立衍生新創公司,將學術研發成果轉化為具體產業效益。TSI是由一群具有財務、法律、募資、以及各產業經驗的專業人士組成,致力於協助新創團隊調整商業模式、法規路徑、市場評估、財務及股權規劃,提供創新創業所需的相關知識、課程訓練與外部資源,並鏈結國內外天使投資人、創投、企業投資部門、私募等以挹注資金,共同打造在這塊土地上更多成功而令人感動的故事!

服務領域


1.主動發掘與輔導大專院校案源,推薦潛力個案提出新型態產學研鏈結計畫申請
2.鏈結海內外創投公司、產業界、新創公司及研究機構
3.協助團隊釐清目標市場及優化商業模式
4.聘請專業講師及業師,提供創新創業相關訓練及協助
5.協助團隊參與國內外參展及媒體宣傳曝光

科技部價創計畫


科技部作為台灣科技政策推手,為鼓勵台灣各大專院校及學研機構將深耕多年的技術推向產業界,特別推出價創計畫,協助學術界將技術商業化,讓學術的研發技術能量創造更高的價值。

價創計畫除了提供團隊資金上的支援,同時也建立了國家級加速器—TSI。結合學界及研究機構之研發能量,搭配各界業師的輔導能力,協助團隊度過新創初期的死亡之谷,讓產學研合作研發成果能落實於產業應用,為台灣各產業注入新技術之活水,同時創造高價值之衍生新創公司,帶動台灣新創風氣,共創學界與業界雙贏。

產業五大領域


產學研鏈結中心配合政府推動5+2之新創產業施政計畫,聚焦其中五大產業,協助推動台灣經濟與產業結構轉型。


1.亞洲 • 矽谷:以「推動物聯網產業創新研發」為主軸,包含感測物件、網路傳遞、資料蒐集及應用服務等領域
2.新材料循環:從事能源資源整合供應及廢棄物循環利用之行業
3.新農業:包含農林漁牧業及其加工製造業、機械設備製造業、機械設備租賃業、批發業等
4.智慧機械:整合智慧技術元素,例如:機器人、大數據、虛實整合、3D列印等
5.生技醫藥:涵蓋應用生技產業、製藥產業與醫療器材產業三大領域