Asia Silicon Valley

Taiwan User-Friendly Sensor and Technology

Principal Investigator:Chen Han Huang

Abstract

Food-induced anaphylaxis and acute immune response are significant issues in public health care. For this unmet need, we have developed an IoT food allergen detection device with these advantage:

 

1.The handheld device can analyze food allergens within 2 min.

 

2.This personalized device can be randomly applied anytime and anywhere with secured data connection to cloud storage through smartphone for recording and tracking.

 

3.Our keychain-sized device can provide  sensitive detection with a detection limit < 1ppm, and the results are comparable with ELISA (R2=0.995).

 

This technology can be directly applied in rapid detection of environmental hormone, pesticide, and tracking food origin by DNA. The most important aspect is providing a food quality profile for food manufacturing and restaurant to guarantee the food safety.

This technology is ready to be commercialized for customers being able to protect their life from allergen threaten. The development basement is based in Taiwan and expanding to international market.

1learn more
Team Introduction

  Our group has committed to developing the IoT system for on-site food allergen detection .The effect of detection is faster and more Precision. We expect that can achieve the goals conform to“ User-Friendly ”as our group name. Principal Investigator, Chen-Han Huang , Professor, National Central University. He contributes to Micro electromechanical Systems applied in biosensor system and sensor device design. As the co-founder, Wen-Hao Chen, the CEO is Profession in organic / nano materials design and synthesis. He was Academia Sinica Postdoctoral Research Associate.

Goals and Plan
Entry Barrier

In traditional food allergens detection is used by ELISA, which takes a lot of time and cost in sample extraction and detection. Additionally, the ELISA instrument is too huge to realize point-of-care testing. The existing point of care device for food allergy of detection system can only detect gluten upper than 20 ppm but 10ppm of allergens may lead physical discomfort to food allergy sufferers. Now, our team have developed the novel point-of-care device can quantify target below 10ppm for multiple protein in the same time. It’s a key- chain size device with high sensitivity and specificity and high-throughput detection properties . The device can readout data in less than 2 minutes through special extraction techniques for rapid extraction by kits and electrochemical sensor . Meanwhile, establishing personal systems through IOT and continuously tracking data for personal care purposes (point-of -care testing). It will help more people from food allergies.

Market Scope

 According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), there are 15 million people with food allergies in the United States, and 2.5 million and 17 million in Canada and Europe, in-cluding 40% of children with food allergies have experienced a severe allergic reaction and the rate of food allergy sufferers increases every year. Markets and Markets reports that the food allergen testing and food safety testing marketill reach 5.74 and 24.6 billion in 2022 and 2023 respectively. Our device can perform high-sensitivity and high-throughput detection without restriction of the site. It can not only perform food allergen testing, but also detect environmental hormones, pesticides, food poisoning and other pollution. And it can also trace the nucleic acid DNA of the upstream source of the food. The device has great power to influence food allergen testing market.

亞洲矽谷

食物過敏原檢驗物聯網系統

計畫主持人:黃貞翰助理教授

計畫摘要

由食物所引起的過敏與急性過敏反應,於醫療保健與公共衛生上是一項日趨嚴重的問題,以美國為例,每年有超過20 萬人因食物過敏而急診治療。因此,本團隊發展出一套「食物過敏原檢驗物聯網系統」,此裝置擁有以下幾項特點:

 

  1. 本裝置僅一個鑰匙圈大小,並具備物聯網功能可供使用者在外出時使用,並於2分鐘內完成檢驗。
  2. 藉由藍芽聯結智慧型手機後,可進一步將數據上傳至雲端進行追蹤與記錄。
  3. 在相同的樣本進行交互檢測比較下,此裝置不僅達到和ELISA(酵素免疫分析法)高度一致的偵測結果(R2=0.995)。

 

本技術亦可應用於其他食安相關檢測上,提供食品業或餐廳業者用於監測自家產品確保銷售安全性或建構自家產品安全履歷。本產品將以台灣為基地並推向國際市場。

1learn more
團隊介紹

      目前食物引起過敏反應的病例層出不窮,無法在進食前即時做出判斷、檢測是一大門檻。我們團隊發展出的「食物過敏原檢驗物聯網系統」讓使用者便於攜帶,檢測效果既快速且精準,充分符合User-Friendly之目標願景。計畫主持人黃貞翰助理教授,致力於生物檢測及微機電系統之整合、檢測系統設計等,現任教於中央大學生醫工程學系。共同創辦人包括陳雯灝執行長,曾任中央研究院博士後研究員,具備有機/奈米物質設計、合成之專業;在生物醫學工程及生物標記物檢測上具有豐富的研究經驗。

計畫目標
市場壁壘

現有的point of care device 食物過敏檢測系統,只能高於20ppm時顯示該食物具有過敏原,無法對更小濃度進行定量,但是對於過敏患者,10ppm的過敏原即可能會引起身體不適,而本團隊的裝置可以對10ppm以下進行定量。以往食物過敏原通常經由ELISA測定,需耗費大量時間和昂貴費用在樣品萃取與檢測,同時儀器過於龐大,無法對食物進行即時分析。然而本團隊研發之產品擁有體積小、方便攜帶且具高靈敏性和特異性與高通量檢測之特性,同時藉由IOT建立個人系統並持續追蹤數據,以達到個人照護之目的(point-of-care testing),將可幫助更多人免於食物過敏的病況。當中利用特殊萃取技術,以試劑盒的方式快速萃取並利用電化學感測,2分鐘內即可得到數據。每次檢測費用僅需3~4美金,與ELISA費用相較,極具競爭力。

預期市場規模

 根據美國疾病管制與預防中心(CDC)統計,在美國有一千五百萬人有食物過敏的問題,加拿大以及歐洲也分別有兩百五十萬人和一千七百萬人,其中甚至有40%的孩童有強烈的過敏反應,且食物過敏患者比率逐年增長,在Markets and Markets Research Private預測指出,食物過敏檢測市場在2022年將達5.74億美金。而本檢測平台可不受場所之限制進行高靈敏和高通量檢測,不僅可對食物過敏患者提供檢測,亦可應用在環境荷爾蒙、農藥、食物中毒等汙染以及追蹤食品上游來源之核酸DNA 鑑定及其他檢測,對於食品安全市場亦有極大市場潛力。 同時Markets and Markets Research Private預測 2023年在食品安全檢測市場將達24.6億美金。預估公司在2022年可開始穩定帶來至少每年600萬美元的利潤。